Hawai‘i 2016 Election Results

Nov 8, 2016

Credit Nick Yee

Follow the national election results with NPR as the story develops across the country. HPR will cover the state and local race results and post them here as they become available. 

10pm- 3rd printout:
Kirk Caldwell wins re-election for Honolulu Mayor, beating challenger Charles Djou.
Sam Slom loses to Stanley Chang, making Senate all Democrat.
Karl Rhodes pulls a win over Rod Tam with 66% in Senate District 13 race.  
Robert Lindsey leads Mililani Trask in the OHA Hawai‘i Resident Trustee race.
Keli’i Akina leads Haunani Apoliona by a slim margin for the OHA At-Large Trustee race. 

8:30pm- Second print out: Kirk Caldwell extends his lead over challenger Charles Djou. Caldwell 52.5% Djou 44.9%  

8pm- Polls close on O‘ahu. Kirk Caldwelll (52.9%)  leads challenger Charles Djou (44.5%) in first printout. ​Colleen Hanabusa wins race for seat left by the late Senator Mark Takai.  Gabbard and Schatz lead races. 

7:30pm- 29 polling places remain open on O‘ahu, delaying election results. 

7pm-  52 polls remain open on O‘ahu to accommodate long lines.  Polls on all other islands are reported closed. Reports are saying apparently the Canadian Immigration website crashed earlier this evening. 

6:45- Polls are open late to accommodate long lines… Release of first results is delayed. 

Third printout from the State Office of Elections

Hi Statewide 3rd Reading by Hawaii Public Radio on Scribd