Press Room

Thursday, December 18 2014
Less than $15.5k remains in station’s fundraising for East Hawai‘i transmitter campaign 
Thursday, December 4 2014
HPR presents Hawai‘i Island singer/songwriter Lito Arkangel in its cozy Atherton Studio on Saturday, December 20, at 7:30 p.m. Arkangel's program includes Hawaiian mele from his debut CD Me Ke Aloha, as well as Christmas songs and stories of his journey from a young "kolohe" (rascal) to musician, educator, US Navy veteran, husband and father.
Thursday, October 16 2014
Hawai‘i Public Radio’s fall fund drive finished in dramatic style at 7:45 a.m. on Thursday, October 16. The drive had been suspended at the end of the previous Friday, the tenth and presumed final day of the drive, with a shortfall of nearly $232,000 on the $1.03 million goal.
Monday, October 13 2014
Hawaiʻi Public Radio reached the tenth day of its anticipated 10-day fund drive on Friday, October 10 without having reached its $1.03 million goal. This atypical occurrence for the 33-year-old nonprofit requires the station to return to the air on Wednesday, October 15, to seek the remaining approximately $200,000 needed to support the station’s next six months of operations.
Monday, October 6 2014
Hawai‘i Public Radio adds to its locally developed content with the debut of a new weekday evening program, Latin Beat, hosted by radio veteran Ray Cruz.
Tuesday, August 5 2014
Kāheka Street studios to receive lighting upgrades through WEfficiency
Tuesday, April 22 2014
The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced its regional 2014 Edward R. Murrow Awards, and Hawaii Public Radio has won in three categories. The entire newsroom won for “Best News Series” for “Feeding Ourselves: Hawaii’s Food Future,” which included contributions from reporters on Oahu, Hawaii Island and Molokai.
Thursday, November 7 2013
Service restores emergency broadcasts to Ka‘u district
Thursday, October 3 2013
Four-star ranking comes on eve of station’s pledge drive and completion of statewide network
Friday, August 16 2013
HPR-2 Broadcasting over KIPL 89.9 FM